|
|

15-10-2008, 04:31 PM
|
|
Regular
Group: Regulars
Location: 3178
|
Weird Windows Virus scanner pop up
Hi all,
Something weird just happened when I was googling kitchen scales, I clicked on an entry for a web site and immediatey a pop up came up on my screen
I clicked on cancel and it took me straight to another web page and started scanning my system?? then the box popped up and I clicked the cancel red X, it wouldn't let me do it so I forced quit safari...although it is covered in windows stuff, I am still worried
am I at risk of my system being compromised, I didn't think mac was vunerable to this type of thing??
I am a bit scared at the the moment, can anyone help me out please
__________________
Alum 20" Imac, 2.4 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2GB 667 MHz SD Ram, 500g HD;
White Macbook 2.2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 1 GB Ram, 120g HD,
Black iPod 80gig;
16 gig White 3G iPhone
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

15-10-2008, 04:35 PM
|
|
King of the Carrot Flowers
Group: Regulars
Location: Gippsland, Victoria
|
Close it.. it s a fake and it'll do a lot of damage..
It installs a control panel and messes everything right up.
If i were you check your Control Panels in Windows to see if you have anything called Vista Antivirus or XP Antivirus..
Also check your program files directory for anything called that..
If you see anything like that, delete it.
Wally
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

15-10-2008, 04:40 PM
|
|
Regular
Group: Regulars
Location: 3178
|
Thanks Wally, I am a newbie to macs and this has caught me by surprise
I am on a Mac and not running it with windows in boot camp or parallels
Where do I find the program files directory on the mac?
__________________
Alum 20" Imac, 2.4 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2GB 667 MHz SD Ram, 500g HD;
White Macbook 2.2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 1 GB Ram, 120g HD,
Black iPod 80gig;
16 gig White 3G iPhone
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

15-10-2008, 04:40 PM
|
|
Member
Group: Regulars
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by AcesHoney
am I at risk of my system being compromised, I didn't think mac was vunerable to this type of thing??
I am a bit scared at the the moment, can anyone help me out please
|
It's just a webpage designed to look like it's scanning your system, so it can give you the option to fix the malware it'll claim it's found, and lead you through to buy their real virus scanner/install real malware/ask you for credit card info/etc.
On the Mac, it's about as dangerous as looking at a picture of a Windows screenshot, which is basically what it is.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

15-10-2008, 04:41 PM
|
|
MacTalk Podcaster
Group: Regulars
Location: seaford.vic.au
|
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wally
Close it.. it s a fake and it'll do a lot of damage..
It installs a control panel and messes everything right up.
If i were you check your Control Panels in Windows to see if you have anything called Vista Antivirus or XP Antivirus..
Also check your program files directory for anything called that..
If you see anything like that, delete it.
Wally
|
It can't really do such things on a Mac, but you're right about the fake bit.
It's a website designed to look like an application. It's designed to look like it''s scanning and then finding things on oyur system., Then you'll be promtoed to remove these things, but of course that costs money, so at that point you'll be prompted to pay.
1000% fake. Close the window, move on.
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

15-10-2008, 04:41 PM
|
|
King of the Carrot Flowers
Group: Regulars
Location: Gippsland, Victoria
|
Well if you are running it with OSX, it'll be fine. It's Windows Specific stuff (I thought you said you were running XP, oh well)
Just restart safari (secondary click on safari in the dock and click force quit, if it comes up again)
Wally
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

15-10-2008, 04:43 PM
|
|
Regular
Group: Regulars
Location: 3178
|
Thanks heaps guys 
__________________
Alum 20" Imac, 2.4 GHz Intel Core Duo, 2GB 667 MHz SD Ram, 500g HD;
White Macbook 2.2 GHz Intel Core Duo, 1 GB Ram, 120g HD,
Black iPod 80gig;
16 gig White 3G iPhone
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

15-10-2008, 05:09 PM
|
|
Regular
Group: Regulars
Location: Orange, NSW
|
We had this virus at work, "Vista Anti-Virus". Really messed up a few XP machines.. safe on the mac like the other said 
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

18-10-2008, 11:51 PM
|
|
Member
Group: Regulars
|
what will suck in the future for new OS X users is popups with an OS X theme claiming their Mac is infected and downloads a dmg/pkg file with malware.
__________________
MacBook Pro Core Duo 2.0 GHz 80 GB HDD 1.5 GB RAM
23" Cinema Display
Apple USB keyboard + Mighty Mouse
OWC 250 GB 7200 RPM FW400/FW800/USB
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

19-10-2008, 12:09 AM
|
|
Regular
Group: Regulars
Location: Lancaster, UK
|
I just got that yesterday evening. I went to allmusic.com and it popped up as soon as the page loaded. I quit Safari and reloaded the page, and didn't see it again.
Considering that I have Safari set to block pop-up windows, I found it quite odd.
__________________
iMac G5 (iSight) 20" | iMac C2D 20" | BlackBook C2D 2.2Ghz | iPod 4G 20GB | iPod touch 16GB | iPod touch (2G) 32GB
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|

19-10-2008, 02:38 AM
|
|
I'll need it by Wednesday...
Group: Regulars
Location: Brisbane
|
The first prompt was a javascript alert, not an actual popup. I believe its handled slightly differently.
|
|
|
|
|
|